Skip to Content

Press Releases

Share On:

Appropriations Cardinals Urge Budget Conference to Provide Topline for the Completion of Funding Bills

Chairs of Appropriations Subcommittees Call on Ryan and Murray to Reach Agreement before Thanksgiving

Washington, November 18, 2013

House Appropriations Chairman Hal Rogers, along with all 12 Chairs of the Appropriations Subcommittees, sent a letter today to the leaders of the Budget Conference Committee, urging them to come to an agreement quickly on topline spending levels for annual funding bills.

“We call on the Budget conference to reach an agreement on the FY 2014 and 2015 spending caps as soon as possible to allow the appropriations process to move forward to completion by the January 15 expiration of the current short-term Continuing Resolution.  We urge you to redouble your efforts toward that end and report common, topline levels for both the House and Senate before the Thanksgiving recess, or by December 2 at the latest,”  the letter states.

The letter, directed to Budget Conference Committee Chairs Rep. Paul Ryan and Sen. Patty Murray and their Ranking Members, outlines the dangers of failing to work quickly towards a topline number.

The Cardinals write that, “If a timely agreement is not reached, the likely alternatives could have extremely damaging repercussions.” The letter states that these impacts would include the possibility of another government shutdown, the probability of another continuing resolution that continues outdated spending needs and undermines GOP appropriations priorities, and a green light for the upcoming “Second Sequester”– resulting in more indiscriminate, across-the-board reductions that impact critically important federal programs, especially national defense.         

“The American people deserve a detailed budget blueprint that makes rational and intelligent choices on funding by their elected representatives, not by a meat ax. We urge you to come together and decide on a common discretionary spending topline… to make the responsible spending decisions that we have been elected to make,” the letter concludes.

The co-signers of the letter include: Agriculture Subcommittee Chairman Rep. Robert Aderholt, Commerce/Justice/Science Subcommittee Chairman Rep. Frank Wolf, Defense Subcommittee Chairman Rep. Rodney Frelinghuysen, Energy and Water Subcommittee Chairman Rep. Mike Simpson, Financial Services Subcommittee Chairman Rep. Ander Crenshaw, Homeland Security Subcommittee Chairman Rep. John Carter; Interior Subcommittee Chairman Rep. Ken Calvert, Labor/Health and Human Services/Education Subcommittee Chairman Rep. Jack Kingston, Legislative Branch Subcommittee Chairman Rep. Tom Cole, Military Construction/Veterans Subcommittee Chairman Rep. John Culberson, State/Foreign Operations Subcommittee Chairwoman Rep. Kay Granger, and Transportation/Housing and Urban Development Subcommittee Chairman Rep. Tom Latham. 

The text of the letter can be found here: /UploadedFiles/RogersCards-Ryan_Letter.pdf



Print version of this document

Back to top