Skip to Content

Press Releases

Share On:

Chairman Rogers Announces Subcommittee Chairs for the 114th Congress

Washington, November 20, 2014

House Appropriations Chairman Hal Rogers today announced that the Republican Steering Committee has approved the 12 Appropriations Subcommittee Chairs (or “Cardinals”) for the 114th Congress.

“Over the last four years, the Appropriations Committee has taken the lead in getting our budgets under control – cutting $165 billion in federal discretionary spending, one of the largest reductions in history. Even further, Appropriations bills that have been signed into law make a host of good-government changes to the way our federal agencies operate – reining in waste, abuse, and unnecessary bureaucratic over-regulation that harms our economy.

“The 12 Appropriations Subcommittee Chairmen are essential to this success. They lead the way in overseeing our federal agencies, and guide spending decisions to make the most responsible and effective use of American tax dollars. Over the next two years, we will have some big challenges and a full plate of ‘to-dos’ ahead of us as we continue to fight for stability, continuity, and responsibility in the federal budget process. These excellent Subcommittee Cardinals will be a tremendous benefit to our efforts. I congratulate them and look forward to working with them in the 114th Congress,” Chairman Rogers said.

The Subcommittee Chairs are as follows:

Subcommittee on Agriculture and Rural Development – Chairman Robert Aderholt

Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, and Science – Chairman John Culberson

Subcommittee on Defense – Chairman Rodney Frelinghuysen

Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development – Chairman Mike Simpson

Subcommittee on Financial Services – Chairman Ander Crenshaw

Subcommittee on Homeland Security – Chairman John Carter

Subcommittee on the Interior, Environment – Chairman Ken Calvert

Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services, Education – Chairman Tom Cole

Subcommittee on the Legislative Branch – Chairman Tom Graves

Subcommittee on Military Construction, Veterans Affairs – Chairman Charles Dent

Subcommittee on State, Foreign Operations – Chairwoman Kay Granger

Subcommittee on Transportation, Housing and Urban Development – Chairman Mario Diaz-Balart



Print version of this document

Back to top