Appropriations Committee Organizes for 117th Congress

February 4, 2021
Press Release

The House Appropriations Committee today organized for the 117th Congress by adopting Committee Rules and Subcommittee Jurisdictions.

The Committee Rules and Subcommittee Jurisdictions were both adopted by voice vote.

The Appropriations Committee previously named the Full Committee Vice Chair, Subcommittee Chairs, and Subcommittee Vice Chairs, and is now fully constituted to begin its work overseeing the nation’s discretionary spending.

In addition to the organizing business, Chair Rosa DeLauro (D-CT-03) offered reflections on the House Appropriations Committee’s work for the 117th Congress. Excerpts of Chair DeLauro’s remarks are below:

“Welcome to the first meeting of the Committee on Appropriations for the 117th Congress. We meet today to consider and adopt our Committee rules and subcommittee jurisdictions.

“Before we turn to our formal business, let me take a moment to share a few thoughts on my vision for approaching our work on the Appropriations Committee over the next two years.

“It is the greatest honor of my life to chair this Committee and to work with all of you.

“Our mission is to shape the $1.4 trillion that goes through the 12 appropriations subcommittees to make government work for working people, the middle class and vulnerable. After a period of disinvestment, we need long-term public investment.

“I intend to be strong and inclusive. That our Chairs and Ranking Members feel empowered. That we pass all 12 appropriations bills in regular order.

“Inclusive means involving and listening to Chairs and Ranking Members, sharing information, allowing diverse voices to be heard. We will ensure members are able to see results in Appropriations, working with both parties and building consensus.

“I have had the opportunity to speak with all the Democrats and just about all the Republicans, except for two where I have left messages.

“I am eager for us to get to work and responsibly fund our government in a way that meets the needs of this moment and builds back a better nation where everyone has an opportunity to contribute and succeed.”

“Chairwoman Nita Lowey said many times that she counted Congresswoman Kay Granger as her partner and her friend. I plan to do the same. Members on both sides know Congresswoman Granger for her experience, her professionalism, and her dedication to completing our work on time.

“I just say to you, Kay, my friend, I look forward to working closely with you as we move through the entire process this year, from oversight and budget hearings, through markups and floor consideration, and into conference negotiations. We have already had several conversations.

“Before I turn to Ms. Granger for her opening remarks, I would like to extend a warm welcome to the six new Democratic members of the Committee – and I know Congresswoman Granger will introduce the new Members on her side shortly.

  • Representative Adriano Espaillat of New York’s 13th District;
  • Representative Josh Harder of California’s 10th District;
  • Representative Jennifer Wexton of Virginia’s 10th District;
  • Representative David Trone of Maryland’s 6th District;
  • Representative Lauren Underwood of Illinois’ 14th District; and
  • Representative Susie Lee of Nevada’s 3rd District.

“I welcome all of you to this distinguished Committee. I hope you will come to share my pride in the Appropriations Committee’s role in our government and our nation.”

“We can’t do this work, my friends, without the extraordinary efforts of our full Committee and subcommittee staff.

“I want to take a moment and thank Shalanda Young for her dedication and tireless work for this Committee. 

“You have earned our respect and admiration, all of us, over the 14 years she has served this Committee. You are off now to be Deputy Director of the Office of Management and Budget.

"You have been Staff Director since 2017, making history as the first Black woman to serve in that position. And as a trusted aide both to Chairwoman Lowey and to me, you successfully navigated the end of the 2018-19 government shutdown and played an essential role in Congress’ response to the coronavirus pandemic.

“Fortunately for us and the country, you will remain a key player in the appropriations process. I look forward to working closely with you in this new and important role.

“While this is a big loss for the Committee, we are in good hands with our new staff director Robin Juliano and deputy staff director Matt Washington.

“Robin comes with vast experience in the executive and legislative branches of government and non-profit experience, and I have seen first-hand that she is an incredible force and proven fierce negotiator.

“Matt has extensive experience on the Hill with 13 years serving this Committee including as clerk of two subcommittees, on the authorizing side, and in personal offices.

“I have huge confidence in these two very capable, hard-working people and I look forward to all they will do to help you all and working families all over this country.

“I submit to all that Robin and Matt are always available to you and I encourage you to reach out them whenever you need them.

“I also look forward to working with Anne Marie Chotvacs, Johnnie Kaberle, and the entire Republican staff.

“I thank you for your commitment, your dedication, and your professionalism to help all of us. Our names are on the door, but you help us to make our way through all the Appropriations processes through the year.”

“I would like to recognize and thank the three Members from the majority side who will serve as our representatives on the Budget Committee: David Price, Barbara Lee, and Jennifer Wexton.

“Also, I would like to mention that in accordance with House Democratic Caucus rules, we have elected a Vice Chair of the Committee, Brenda Lawrence.”

117th Congress