DeLauro Names Katelynn Thorpe as Appropriations Committee Communications Director

March 16, 2022
Press Release

House Appropriations Committee Chair Rosa DeLauro (D-CT-03) today promoted Katelynn Thorpe to serve as the Committee’s Communications Director.

Katelynn has served as Chair DeLauro’s personal office Communications Director since June 2020 and previously served as Communications Director in the personal office of former Appropriations Committee Chairwoman Nita Lowey (D-NY-17). Katelynn, a former middle school math teacher in Providence, RI, has an undergraduate degree in political economy from the University of California Berkeley and a master’s in education from Rhode Island College.

Katelynn replaces Evan Hollander, who has become Executive Director of the House Democratic Policy and Communications Committee (DPCC).

“While I will miss Evan and was sad to see him leave after four years of leading the Appropriations communications team to take a new role helping guide Democratic messaging, I am delighted to announce that Katelynn Thorpe will be taking over as Communications Director,” said DeLauro. “I have worked closely with Katelynn in my personal office and am confident that her work ethic, years of experience working closely with the Committee, and extensive knowledge of the issues facing working families make her an excellent addition to the Front Office. I look forward to continuing our work together.”

117th Congress