Lowey Welcomes Eight New Democratic Members to House Appropriations Committee

January 15, 2019
Press Release

House Appropriations Chairwoman Nita M. Lowey (D-NY-17) today welcomed eight new Democratic members appointed to the Appropriations Committee for the 116th Congress.

“I am delighted to welcome these talented new members to the Appropriations Committee. As House Democrats work for the American people, the Appropriations Committee will lead the way by investing in America’s future,” Chairwoman Lowey said. “Our new members reflect the diversity of the Democratic Caucus, bringing fresh perspectives from unique backgrounds and different parts of our country. Their input and leadership will be invaluable as we work to invest in working families, rebuild our crumbling infrastructure, and conduct robust oversight of the Trump administration. I congratulate our new members on this honor, and I look forward to working with them to deliver for their constituents and for all Americans.”

The House Appropriations Committee is one of the House’s oldest committees and has one of the broadest jurisdictions of any committee in Congress. It is responsible for funding most of the functions of the federal government, a responsibility that derives from Article 1 of the U.S. Constitution: “No money shall be drawn from the treasury but in consequence of the appropriations made by law.” The Appropriations Committee is comprised of 12 subcommittees, each of which cover a specific, significant part of the federal government.

The new members, who were recommended by the House Democratic Steering and Policy Committee last week and formally appointed by the House Democratic Caucus today, are:

  • Congresswoman Cheri Bustos of Illinois
  • Congressman Ed Case of Hawaii
  • Congressman Charlie Crist of Florida
  • Congresswoman Lois Frankel of Florida
  • Congresswoman Ann Kirkpatrick of Arizona
  • Congresswoman Brenda Lawrence of Michigan
  • Congresswoman Norma Torres of California
  • Congresswoman Bonnie Watson Coleman of New Jersey


116th Congress