Chairwoman Lowey Statement at Full Committee Markup of FY 2021 Legislative Branch Funding Bill

2020-07-10 11:15

WASHINGTON — Congresswoman Nita M. Lowey (D-NY), Chair of the House Appropriations Committee, delivered the following remarks at the Committee's markup of the fiscal year 2021 Legislative Branch​ bill:

I thank Chairman Ryan and Ranking Member Herrera-Beutler for their work on this bill as well as the staff for their efforts to review member requests and craft the product before us.

The Fiscal Year 2021 Legislative Branch Appropriations bill makes key investments in our workforce – from funding for House modernization initiatives to increased resources for diversity and inclusion efforts – to more fully represent and meet the needs of the diverse communities we serve.

As our nation weathers the COVID-19 pandemic, we must ensure that members of Congress can effectively work on behalf of their constituents and that legislative branch employees can perform their duties safely. 

The Fiscal Year 2021 Legislative Branch Appropriations bill would do both by providing:

  • $640 million for the Member’s Representational Allowance, a 4 percent increase above the FY 2020 enacted levels, providing offices with the ability to meet rising costs and ensure a safe environment for staff;
  • $631.3 million for the of Architect of the Capitol, $31.8 million above FY 2020 enacted levels;
  • $2 million for modernization efforts in the House; and
  • An increase of $500,000 for the Office of Diversity & Inclusion.

The Capitol and its grounds should be a place where all Americans feel welcome to work and visit. Toward that end, this bill would protect the rights of DACA recipients to work in the Legislative Branch. It also includes strong language removing statues and imagery that honor divisive figures who were involved in the Confederacy or otherwise have unambiguous records of racial intolerance.

I look forward to moving this bill to the floor of the House of Representatives. I urge all members to support it.


116th Congress