The House Committee on Appropriations — comprised of 30 Democrats and 23 Republicans and organized into 12 subcommittees — is responsible for funding the federal government’s vital activities to keep the United States safe, strong, and moving forward. 

Led by Chairwoman Nita M. Lowey, Democrat of New York, the Appropriations Committee fights for investments in families and communities across America, providing funding to create jobs, grow our economy, keep our country safe and secure, and build for the future.

Through the 12 appropriations bills that the Committee considers each year, Committee members work on behalf of the American people by prioritizing good schools, robust job training, affordable higher education, quality health care, and better infrastructure.

Learn more about: