Lewis Announces Appropriations Subcommittee Assignments and Ranking Members

Apr 12, 2011
Press Release

Appropriations Committee Ranking Member, Jerry Lewis (R-CA), today announced the Republican ranking members and members of the committee for the 110th Congress. The GOP Steering Committee unanimously approved the ranking member selections earlier today and formal approval by the GOP Conference is expected.

"Our Republican ranking members reflect a wealth of talent, including an impressive combination of former subcommittee chairman as well as rising stars on our committee," said Lewis. "Committee Republicans are committed to holding down spending and holding the new majority accountable for its spending decisions."

Under committee rules, and as Ranking Minority Member of the full committee, Lewis is authorized to sit as an ex-officio member of each subcommittee. He has chosen not to exercise his prerogative of becoming the ranking member of a specific subcommittee to allow more members of the committee an opportunity to serve in a leadership capacity.

The full roster of GOP ranking members and subcommittee membership is listed below. Subcommittee ranking members are italicized.

Agriculture, Rural Development, Food and Drug Administration, and Related Agencies
Jack Kingston, Georgia; Tom Latham, Iowa; Jo Ann Emerson, Missouri; Ray LaHood, Illinois; Rodney Alexander, Louisiana

Commerce, Justice, Science and Related Agencies
Rodney P. Frelinghuysen, New Jersey; John Abney Culberson, Texas; Harold Rogers, Kentucky; Tom Latham, Iowa; Robert B. Aderholt, Alabama

C.W. Bill Young, Florida; David L. Hobson, Ohio; Rodney P. Frelinghuysen, New Jersey; Todd Tiahrt, Kansas; Roger F. Wicker, Mississippi; Jack Kingston, Georgia

Energy and Water Development
David L. Hobson, Ohio; Zach Wamp, Tennessee; Jo Ann Emerson, Missouri; John T. Doolittle, California; Kay Granger, Texas

Financial Services
Ralph Regula, Ohio; Tom Latham, Iowa; Mark Steven Kirk, Illinois; Dennis R. Rehberg, Montana; Rodney Alexander, Louisiana

Homeland Security
Harold Rogers, Kentucky; Jo Ann Emerson, Missouri; John Carter, Texas; Robert B. Aderholt, Alabama; Kay Granger, Texas; John Abney Culberson, Texas

Interior, Environment and, Related Agencies
Todd Tiahrt, Kansas; John E. Peterson, Pennsylvania; John T. Doolittle, California; Michael K. Simpson, Idaho; Virgil H. Goode, Jr. Virginia

Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies
James, T. Walsh, New York; Ralph Regula, Ohio; John E. Peterson, Pennsylvania; Dave Weldon, Florida; Michael K. Simpson, Idaho; Dennis R. Rehberg, Montana

Legislative Branch
Zach Wamp, Tennessee; Ray LaHood, Illinois; John E. Peterson, Pennsylvania

Military Construction, Veterans Administration, and Related Agencies
Roger F. Wicker, Mississippi; Ander Crenshaw, Florida; C.W. Bill Young, Florida; John Carter, Texas; Kay Granger, Texas

State, Foreign Operations, and Related Agencies
Frank R. Wolf, Virginia; Joe Knollenberg, Michigan; Mark Steven Kirk, Illinois; Ander Crenshaw, Florida; Dave Weldon, Florida

Transportation, Housing and Urban Development, and Related Agencies
Joe Knollenberg, Michigan; Frank R. Wolf, Virginia; Robert B. Aderholt, Alabama; James T. Walsh, New York; Virgil Goode, Jr., Virginia

*Ranking Members in italic

112th Congress